Posted by: lifeinlonsdale | August 27, 2008

Helping to relieve back pain

I had a client e-mail me the other day to ask me about how she could help her back pain. My disclaimer is that I am not a doctor and before doing any exercise for chronic pain, you should check with your healthcare professional.

Having gotten past that, I can tell you about my experience with my low back pain and things that have helped me.

I strained me right QL (low back) many years ago doing yoga, of all things. I finally figured out, with help from some visits to a chiropractor, that the reason it wasn’t healing was becuase it was weak.

He told me to do the following exercices, and they worked very quickly to reduce my back pain:

1. Kneel on the floor on all fours. Gently extend one leg straight out behind you and hold for 10 seconds. Then do the same with the other leg.

It is very important to start small with this; if you are already suffering from pain, doing too many can make it much worse. Start with just a few times on each side and work your way up from there (I started with too many, because it didn’t hurt at the time, but boy, did it hurt later.)

2. When this becomes too easy, the advanced version of the exercise is to extend the opposite arm at the same time as you extend your leg, as this strengthens more of your core muscle groups.

Responses

  1. Well, it seems that most chiropractic patients started wearing sacroiliac belts (aka SI belt) around their pelvis as it is recommended by most chiropractors across America. By providing the correct balance of resistance and resilience, the sacroiliac belt re-establishes the joint’s normal motion, relieving stress and instability at these weight bearing structures.

    There are many good SI Belts out there, but as far as quality, comfort, and prices are considered – Serola Sacroiliac Belt seems to be the best in the market. I’d say it was well worth my $38 investment when I was in severe back pain, which was caused by a sports injury.

    Visit their website for more info: http://serolabelt.com/new-serola-sacroiliac-belt.aspx.

    Hope this info is helpful to others. Good Luck!

  2. […] He told me to do the following exercices, and they worked very quickly to reduce my back pain:. 1. Kneel on the floor on all fours. Gently extend one leg straight out behind you and hold for 10 seconds. Then do the same with the other … [Read more] […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

