Posted by: lifeinlonsdale | September 18, 2008

Neuro Linguistic Programming and how it can change your life…

At the massage workshop that I recently attended in Washington, I met a remarkable healer by the name of Shelley. 

She gave me a remarkable gift in pointing out to me the ways that my language was negatively affecting my life.

She explained, in essence, that we create our reality by what we say and what we think.  Our thoughts and words become a self fulfilling prophecy.   It is an extension of the Law of Attraction, that what we put out into the world we get back.

Over the course of the weekend, she corrected me when I was saying things that I really didn’t want to say, or maybe could phrase in a more positive manner.  When I said something like “I feel like crap” she would say “Now, do you really want to say that?”  Another website that I saw gave the example of the difference between someone saying that they have “flaws” in their personality or saying “I have room for growth”.  The second statement leaves room for growth, where the first one makes it seem like there is nothing that can be done (the word “flaws” implies that they are inherent).

I have become more aware of how my clients speak about their own health.  I hear people saying things like “I hurt all the time” or “My body is a wreck” and have started thinking about how this energy manifests in their lives and their bodies. 

From my training in Native American healing technniques and philosophy, I have become convinced that many physical ailments start in the energetic or emotional plane.  An emotion or negative thought gets stuck, or does not flow through the way that it should, and it eventually manifests as a physical symptom.  I wonder how much of this happens because of these negative catch phrases that we all use on a daily basis?

Anyways, here is a link to a website with a practical exercise that you can use now to improve your life:

Stopping Self Sabotage

Responses

  1. YES! It is true. This way of thinking is also represented in “The Secret.” Imagine if all of us spoke, thought and acted in a positive way every single day. It’s easy to tell if a persons glass is half empty or half full. The “half fulls” are making a difference for the better. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Categories

