Posted by: lifeinlonsdale | September 13, 2011

More evidence to suggest that we need to reevaluate our cellpphone usage, particularly with children

I just finished reading an article about cell phone use and the potential risks associated with it. For a society addicted to using cell phones, this information may come as a surprise. Indeed, I am not trying to tell anyone how to live their lives or how to raise their children (my last post about this topic prompted some heated replies.)

We have all blindly stepped into this new world of constant connectivity, without knowing what the consequences are. Now that cellphones have been mainstream for 10 + years, we are starting to get more data about the long term risks of cell phone useage in the form of increased risk of cancers of the ears and brain, particularly in children.

Now, I will add that the studies are not all conclusive on this matter. Some of the studies indicate no elevted risk and some indicate an elevated risk. This is enough information for me to be cautious about cell phone use (I have never liked my cell phone much, anyways, and have never used it regularly. Call me stubborn or old fashioned, I just don’t see a need to be that connected at all times)

Anyways, off of my personal soapbox: Here is a link to the article from Mothering.com. Read it and digest it for yoruself:

The Risk of Radiation from Mothering.com

Yours In Health,
Shanna

Leave a Reply

Categories

